Gorman Ridge Rally – 2021

Held every year, the Gorman Ridge Rally is a great event to attend for competitors, spectators and volunteers – especially Amateur Radio Operators or “Hams”.

Gorman Ridge Rally - 2021

This video was too large to post to the Gorman Ridge Rally Photo Album (about 25 minutes) Click on the link below and you will be taken to our YouTube Channel and you will be able to watch the video there. Be sure to “Like”, “Subscribe” and “Ring” that “Bell” so that you get notified when we post additional videos to the channel. Where have I heard that before?!

In this segment, you will follow the Maxey Comms Team into the Hungry Valley SVRA after they met up in Gorman, CA. As the team progresses on Gold Hill Road to their positions on the Maxey course, Paula provides great information along the way. The organizers did a great job of putting this rally together. Follow John and Brenda as they make their way to their position as “Blockage #1 – Wide Area and Fast Finish. All blockages help to prevent spectators, campers, and “Off-Road Enthusiasts” (ATVs) from accidentally entering the course during the rally. This would be highly dangerous to all. In addition, certain radio teams would be given the task of calling in the rally car numbers as they pass by their blockages. You will hear this in later segments. All radio teams tracked the cars as they passed through in case they broke down, blocked the road, or ran off the course. They could then relay that information to the Comms Captain and Net Control. The Tehachapi Amateur Radio Association was represented by 6 radio operators covering two blockages on the Maxey course and two operators covering the Start Finish for the Badger/North Boundary Course.

Visit our Channel on YouTube. Be sure to “Like”, “Subscribe”, and don’t forget to ring that “Bell”. If you can, please share with your friends and family and ask them to do the same. Here is a link for our channel: Tehachapi Amateur Radio Association’s YouTube Channel

Author: ac6ee

Tehachapi Amateur Radio Association (T.A.R.A.) President, (2019-2020) 2nd Vice President (2017-2018)